Skip to content
Best travel medical insurance for US citizens traveling abroad (2026)
Specialty Coverage

Best travel medical insurance for US citizens traveling abroad (2026)

15 min readBy Editorial Team
Last updated:Published:

Four travel-medical plans compared on what they actually pay: GeoBlue (now BCBS Global Solutions) Single Trip, IMG Patriot International, Seven Corners Travel Medical and World Nomads, with age bands, deductibles and the primary-plan rule that decides your shortlist.

Affiliate disclosure: some links in this article are tracked partner links; we may earn a commission at no cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.

The verdict

  1. Settle eligibility before you shop limits. The first question on a travel-medical quote is not "how much coverage?" — it is "do you still have a US health plan?" One of the four plans below sells its pre-existing-condition tier only to travelers who have one, and the rest coordinate with your other insurance in different ways. Once you know which side of that line you are on, compare live quotes on Squaremouth and sort on emergency medical and evacuation before anything else. One caveat on that search: Squaremouth does not sell World Nomads, which sells direct, so price that one on its own site (checked September 2026).
  2. Buy the medical maximum first, the evacuation limit second, the deductible third. Baggage, dental and trip delay are rounding errors next to an air ambulance.
  3. If you are 65 or older, read the age band instead of the headline. Seven Corners' Travel Medical plan publishes a medical maximum of $1,000,000 for travelers up to age 64, $100,000 for 65 to 79 years, and $10,000 for travelers 80 and older, as of September 2026. Every travel-medical page leads with its best case, which is rarely your case.

What actually happens to your coverage at the border

Free Travel Insurance newsletter

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Medicare is the clearest example. Medicare.gov states that Medicare usually doesn't cover health care while you're traveling outside the U.S., then lists narrow exceptions: certain medically necessary services on a cruise ship in or within 6 hours of a US port, a short list of foreign-hospital situations, and travel vaccines under Part D. Medigap may add limited foreign emergency care. That is the whole of it.

Private US plans are not much better traveled. CDC's travelers' health guidance is blunt: if you need medical care in another country, you will likely need to pay out-of-pocket for any services. CDC also names the number that makes this financial rather than inconvenient — medical evacuation insurance covers emergency transportation from a remote area to a high-quality hospital, which could otherwise cost more than $100,000.

So a travel-medical plan does two jobs. Emergency medical pays for treatment where you are. Emergency medical evacuation pays to move you somewhere that can treat you. They carry separate limits on every certificate below, and the second is where an uninsured bill becomes life-changing. If your itinerary is remote, see how much evacuation coverage a remote trek needs before you set a number.

The four plans by what they will actually pay

Benchmark: one US resident, one trip outside the United States, limits as published on each provider's own plan page and read in September 2026. Where a page shows a range of selectable maximums, the age band you fall into at quote time may cap which you can choose — the certificate states the limits that apply to you.

Plan (September 2026)Medical maximum availableDeductible choicesEmergency medical evacuationLongest policy term
BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip (Gold and Platinum)Options include $1,000,000; $500,000; $100,000; $50,000$0; $100; $250; $500Up to $500,000 per trip period182 days
IMG Patriot International LiteUp to $1,000,000$0 to $2,500$1,000,000Up to 24 continuous months
IMG Patriot International PlatinumUp to $8,000,000$0 to $25,000Up to the maximum limitUp to 36 continuous months
Seven Corners Travel Medical (Excluding the USA)$1,000,000 to age 64; $100,000 at 65 to 79; $10,000 at 80+$0; $100; $250; $500; $1,000Up to $500,0005 days to 364 days
World Nomads Standard / Explorer / Epic$125,000 / $150,000 / $250,000Certificate states$400,000 / $500,000 / $700,000Not stated on the plan page

The second table decides which of those columns you are allowed to buy at all.

Plan (September 2026)US health plan required to enroll?Pays first, or after your other cover?Pre-existing conditionsWhere you buy it
BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip PlatinumYes — a Primary PlanBehind the Primary Plan it requiresCovered, including evacuationSquaremouth or direct
BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip GoldNo — stated explicitlyCertificate statesNot coveredSquaremouth or direct
IMG Patriot InternationalNot stated as a requirementCertificate statesAcute Onset, under age 70 onlySquaremouth or direct
Seven Corners Travel MedicalNot stated as a requirementSecondary except to MedicaidAcute Onset only: $50,000 at 64 and under, $10,000 at 65 to 79Squaremouth or direct
World NomadsNot stated as a requirementSecondary (excess)Exclusion waiver on Explorer and Epic, time-sensitiveDirect only, not on Squaremouth

BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip — the plan you may still be searching for as GeoBlue

GeoBlue is now Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions, and the company says it has simplified its product names along the way, so you will see both brands for a while. The short-term travel plan is sold today as Single Trip, in two tiers: Gold and Platinum, which share the same skeleton. Maximum benefit options include $1,000,000; $500,000; $100,000; $50,000 per insured person per policy period. Deductible options include $0; $100; $250; $500. Emergency medical transportation — evacuation, repatriation and repatriation of remains combined — carries a maximum of up to $500,000 per trip period. A trip can run up to 182 days, with a minimum charge of 7 days, and plans are available to US residents age 95 and younger.

The tiers split on two things that matter more than the shared limits. First, Platinum covers pre-existing conditions and Gold does not — the Gold page says in its own words that while it doesn't cover pre-existing conditions, it provides robust protection for new medical needs. Second, Platinum requires you to already hold a US health plan and Gold does not. The eligibility text is explicit: a Primary Plan must carry limits in excess of $50,000 per incident or per year, and Medicaid and VA health plans are specifically excluded from counting.

One smaller difference matters if you take daily medication: outpatient prescription drugs outside the US are paid at 100% of reasonable charges up to $5,000 on Platinum and 50% on Gold. Neither tier can be bought once you have gone — the plan must be purchased in your home country before departure, though an extension or a one-time consecutive re-enrollment can be requested while overseas.

IMG Patriot International — the only one that sells an eight-figure maximum

IMG's Patriot Travel Series splits into plans for visitors to the United States and plans for people leaving it. US citizens abroad want the International side: Patriot Lite International and Patriot Platinum International.

Lite offers a maximum limit of up to $1,000,000, a deductible from $0 to $2,500, extensions up to 24 continuous months, coinsurance at 100% up to the maximum limit, and incidental US emergency coverage up to 2 weeks. Platinum raises that to up to $8,000,000, a deductible range of $0 to $25,000, and extensions to 36 continuous months. Emergency medical evacuation is $1,000,000 on Lite, and up to the maximum limit on Platinum.

Two caveats. The $8,000,000 figure is the top of a range of selectable maximums, not a limit everyone can buy — IMG's brochure notes that maximum limits vary by plan and age. And the Acute Onset of Pre-Existing Conditions benefit is available only to travelers under age 70, which removes the oldest travelers from the one pre-existing route this plan offers; if that is you, start with our guide to travelers over 70 with pre-existing conditions.

The extension windows are the real differentiator. A plan extendable for up to 24 or 36 continuous months is built for a six-month working trip or a multi-year posting, not a fortnight in Portugal.

Seven Corners Travel Medical — the clearest age math on the market

Seven Corners publishes what most competitors bury. On its Travel Medical Excluding the USA plan page the medical maximum is $1,000,000 for travelers up to age 64 and $100,000 for 65 to 79 years, with travelers 80 and older covered up to $10,000. Emergency medical evacuation and repatriation runs up to $500,000. Deductibles are chosen from $0; $100; $250; $500; $1,000 — the $0 option exists partly because some visa regimes require it.

Coverage length runs from 5 days to 364 days, extendable up to that same total, with a $5 administrative fee per extension. Your original effective date still governs the deductible and pre-existing determinations, so extending is not starting fresh.

Two facts change how you should read the headline. This plan is secondary coverage to other insurance except Medicaid — the plan document language says so directly, which means if you do still hold a US plan, that one is expected to pay before Seven Corners does. And the pre-existing route is Acute Onset only: up to $50,000 for travelers 64 and younger and up to $10,000 for 65 to 79 years, beginning after a 72-hour waiting period, and unavailable if you had a change in prescription or treatment related to the underlying condition within the last 30 days. Chronic conditions with expected flare-ups are excluded by definition. That is a different animal from a waiver, and we unpack the distinction in how a pre-existing condition waiver actually works and in our head-to-head on Travelex and Seven Corners for pre-existing conditions.

World Nomads — the one you can buy after you have already left

World Nomads is the outlier here in three ways, and each is a genuine reason to pick it or to rule it out.

Its published medical limits are the lowest of the four: emergency medical coverage of $125,000 on Standard, $150,000 on Explorer and $250,000 on Epic, with medical evacuation and repatriation of remains at $400,000, $500,000 and $700,000 respectively, per person. Against a Patriot Platinum maximum they look thin — which is why this is a backpacker's plan rather than a serious-illness plan.

It is also the only one of the four you can buy while already abroad. World Nomads' own FAQ says that if you have left the US without travel insurance or your plan has run out while you are still on the road, you can buy a plan online anytime, from anywhere in the world, with immediate coverage for accidents but a possible waiting period for other benefits. Extending works the same way: you buy another plan on the road rather than lengthening the one you hold. That is the opposite of the BCBS Global Solutions rule, and why this plan keeps turning up on a long backpacking trip through Asia.

Third, it is a comprehensive plan rather than a pure medical one — trip cancellation, baggage and 250+ covered activities on Standard, 300+ on Explorer and 340+ on Epic. Explorer and Epic carry an optional pre-existing exclusion waiver, available only if you buy during a time-sensitive period and are healthy enough to travel at purchase. And World Nomads is not on Squaremouth's provider list, so it has to be shopped on its own site.

Primary versus secondary — the clause that decides who pays first

A secondary (or excess) plan expects another insurer to pay first and covers what is left. Seven Corners states that its Travel Medical plan is secondary coverage to other insurance except Medicaid. World Nomads tells claimants that travel insurance is considered secondary (or excess) insurance and that you must have tried to claim from your primary health care or the airline first. With no US plan at all, a secondary clause usually means nothing sits ahead of it in the queue — but it still means paperwork and a denial letter to produce.

A primary plan pays first with nothing underneath it. Among the direct insurers, Faye publishes emergency medical expenses of up to $250,000 as primary coverage, plus emergency medical evacuation of up to $500,000 — useful if you want one plan that pays first and also protects prepaid trip costs. If that shape fits, get a Faye quote alongside the medical-only plans rather than instead of them; Faye is sold direct and is not on Squaremouth's provider list either.

The wrinkle for anyone still carrying a US plan: BCBS Global Solutions' Single Trip Platinum requires one, so by design it sits behind the coverage you already have. If you cancelled your US coverage to travel, Platinum is not available to you at all, and Gold is the tier to price. That single rule reshuffles the whole shortlist, and it is worth checking against what a credit card's travel protection leaves out before you assume a card fills the gap. Terms apply to any card benefit.

Which one for which traveler

  • No US health plan, and you want the widest medical maximum: BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip Gold, the one plan here that states outright that no primary health plan is needed to enroll. Second look: IMG Patriot International, which publishes maximums up to $8,000,000 subject to age and lists no primary-plan requirement on its plan pages.
  • Still on a US plan, with a stable pre-existing condition: BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip Platinum, the only plan of the four that covers pre-existing conditions outright rather than through an acute-onset carve-out — and the only one that requires the US plan you already hold.
  • Aged 65 to 79 with no pre-existing concerns: Seven Corners caps you at $100,000, so check what maximum each of the other three will actually sell you at your age before assuming the biggest headline number is available to you.
  • Aged 80 or older: Seven Corners' $10,000 band is a floor, not a plan. Ask each of the others what maximum they will issue at your age, and treat the evacuation limit as the benefit you are actually buying.
  • Already abroad, or extending on the road: World Nomads is the only one of the four that will sell to you where you stand.
  • A trip longer than six months: BCBS Global Solutions caps a single trip at 182 days, so the choice narrows to Seven Corners at up to 364 days or IMG's 24 to 36 month extension windows. The same logic applies to a semester abroad.

Set your floor, then shop it

Pick the emergency medical and evacuation numbers you will not go below before you look at a quote — otherwise the cheapest plan wins by default. Run your itinerary through the coverage estimator for a defensible floor, then take it to the market. Squaremouth lists 20 travel insurance companies in one place, including BCBS Global Solutions, IMG and Seven Corners — three of the four plans here. For a second engine over a different panel, compare quotes on HelloSafe.

We are not licensed insurance producers and nothing here is a recommendation about your circumstances. Every limit above comes from the insurer's own plan page, read in September 2026; the certificate you are issued governs your claim.

FAQ

Does my US health insurance cover me abroad?

Usually not, or not much. Medicare says it generally does not cover health care outside the United States apart from a few narrow exceptions, and CDC's guidance is that if you need care in another country you will likely need to pay out of pocket. Employer and marketplace plans vary, and many that do cover emergencies abroad still require you to pay the hospital yourself and claim it back later. Call the number on your card and ask two questions: does the plan pay for emergency treatment outside the US, and does it pay for emergency medical evacuation. The second answer is almost always no.

How much travel medical insurance do I need?

There is no single correct number, but the shape of the answer is consistent. Set the emergency medical maximum against the cost of care where you are going and how long you will be there, and set the evacuation limit against how far you will be from a hospital that could treat you. CDC notes that emergency transportation from a remote area to a high-quality hospital could cost more than 100,000 dollars, which is why evacuation limits on these plans run into the hundreds of thousands rather than a few thousand. Pick your floor before you compare prices, not after.

Is travel medical insurance the same as travel insurance?

No, and buying the wrong one is the most common mistake on this page. Travel medical insurance is health cover for a trip: it pays doctors and hospitals and it pays to move you. Comprehensive travel insurance is mostly financial cover: it reimburses prepaid, non-refundable trip costs when you cancel or interrupt for a covered reason, with a smaller medical benefit alongside. If your worry is a hospital bill in Bangkok, you want the first. If it is losing a paid-for cruise, you want the second. Plenty of travelers need both.

Can I buy travel medical insurance after I leave the US?

Sometimes, but not from most insurers. Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions states that its travel medical plans must be bought before you leave, though an extension or a one-time consecutive re-enrollment can be requested while overseas. World Nomads is the exception among the plans here: it says you can buy online from anywhere in the world, with immediate coverage for accidents and a possible waiting period for other benefits. Expect anything that went wrong before you bought to be excluded.

Does travel medical insurance cover pre-existing conditions?

Only on specific plans and usually on specific terms. Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions covers pre-existing conditions on its Single Trip Platinum tier, which requires you to hold a primary US health plan, and excludes them on Gold. Seven Corners and IMG use an acute-onset benefit instead, which pays only for a sudden and unexpected flare-up, is capped well below the main medical maximum, and in IMG's case is offered only to travelers under age 70. World Nomads offers a pre-existing exclusion waiver on Explorer and Epic if you buy within a time-sensitive window. A stable managed condition and a chronic condition with expected flare-ups are treated very differently, so read the certificate definition rather than the marketing page.

Sources

  1. — Medicare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) (accessed 2026-09-22)
  2. — CDC Travelers' Health (accessed 2026-09-22)
  3. — Seven Corners (accessed 2026-09-22)
  4. — Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions (formerly GeoBlue) (accessed 2026-09-22)
  5. — IMG (International Medical Group) (accessed 2026-09-22)
  6. — IMG (International Medical Group) (accessed 2026-09-22)
  7. — World Nomads (accessed 2026-09-22)
  8. — Squaremouth (accessed 2026-09-22)

Affiliate Disclosure

This article may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
#travel medical insurance
#international travel insurance
#travel health insurance
#medical evacuation
#pre-existing conditions
#expat travel

Continue Reading

Featured Products

Squaremouth — Compare 100+ Travel Insurance Plans

Live quotes across dozens of top-rated providers in one place. Compare coverage limits side by side and buy direct from the insurer.

View Deal

Faye Travel Insurance

View Deal
HelloSafe

HelloSafe

HelloSafe is a global travel insurance marketplace, available in many languages and currencies, for comparing policies before a trip. It also has a checker that shows what travel cover a bank card may already include.

View Deal