Medical evacuation coverage: how much is enough, and why the limit is not the whole answer
Published guidance starts at $100,000 and rises to $250,000+ for cruises and remote trips. But some plans share one limit across evacuation, repatriation and remains - and the assistance company, not the limit, decides whether the flight is paid for.
Affiliate disclosure: some links in this article are tracked partner links; we may earn a commission at no cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.
The verdict
- Start at $100,000 and go up from there — that is the only floor a public health authority actually publishes. The CDC says medical evacuation "covers emergency transportation from a remote area to a high-quality hospital, which could otherwise cost more than $100,000." Squaremouth's own benefits guidance recommends "$100,000+ for trips abroad" and "$250,000+ for cruises & remote destinations". Set your number first, then compare live quotes on Squaremouth with that limit as a filter. Terms apply.
- Check whether the limit is shared before you compare two of them. Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions publishes a "Maximum Benefit per Trip Period for all Emergency Medical Transportation Services up to $500,000" — one pot covering evacuation, repatriation and repatriation of remains. Seven Corners Trip Protection Choice publishes up to $1,000,000 for the same group of benefits. A $500,000 shared limit is not half of a $1,000,000 shared limit; it is a different shape. Terms apply.
- The limit is not what decides the claim — the assistance company is. Seven Corners will pay only where "the local attending Physician and Our designated Travel Assistance Services Provider determine" your condition is acute, severe or life threatening, and only to "the nearest suitable Hospital". Work out your own floor with the coverage estimator before you shop. Terms apply.
We are not licensed insurance producers and nothing here is medical or insurance advice. Every figure below was read off the insurer's own plan page, certificate or a government page on 22 September 2026. No premiums appear because we pulled no dated quotes.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
The only cost figure anyone publishes
There is remarkably little published data on what a medical evacuation actually costs, and a lot of confidently repeated numbers with no source behind them. We are publishing one figure because it is the one we could trace: the CDC's travel insurance page states that emergency transportation from a remote area to a high-quality hospital "could otherwise cost more than $100,000."
That is a floor, not an average, and the CDC frames it as a reason to buy the cover rather than as a price list. Any article giving you a tidy per-mile air-ambulance rate is quoting something it cannot show you. We would rather tell you the limits that are published and let you size against them.
What the plans actually carry
| Plan | Published emergency evacuation limit | Shared with repatriation? |
|---|---|---|
| Seven Corners Trip Protection Choice | Up to $1,000,000 | Yes — the benefit is "Medical Evacuation and Repatriation of Remains" |
| Travelex Ultimate | Up to $1,000,000 | Yes — "emergency evacuation and repatriation" |
| Travelex Advantage | Up to $250,000 | Yes |
| Travelex Essential | Up to $200,000 | Yes |
| Travel Guard Deluxe | Up to $1,000,000, plus a Hospital of Choice Evacuation Upgrade | Not stated on the compare page |
| IMG Patriot Lite and Plus | $1,000,000 (Platinum: up to the maximum limit) | Not stated on the plan page |
| BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip (formerly GeoBlue) | Up to $500,000 | Yes — explicitly "for all Emergency Medical Transportation Services" |
| GeoBlue Voyager Choice certificate | Up to $500,000 for all evacuations | Repatriation of remains is a separate $25,000 benefit |
| Faye | Up to $500K | Not stated on the coverage page |
All figures as of September 2026; limits vary by state, by age band and by certificate. Two of these are not on the marketplace: neither Travel Guard nor Faye appears on Squaremouth's provider directory as of 22 September 2026. Travel Guard is bought direct, and so is Faye — get a Faye quote if its $500K evacuation limit is the shape you want.
Two things jump out. First, the spread is five-fold across mainstream plans, from $200,000 on Travelex's cheapest tier to $1,000,000 on three separate plans. Second, the same insurer's two certificates can describe the structure differently: the older GeoBlue Voyager Choice certificate breaks repatriation of remains out as its own $25,000 line, while the current Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions single-trip page folds it into the $500,000.
How to pick your number
Mainstream international travel, cities and resorts: $100,000 upward. That is Squaremouth's published recommendation for trips abroad, and the CDC's figure sits at the same level. Essentially every comprehensive plan in the table clears it.
Cruises, islands, remote destinations: $250,000 upward. Squaremouth's guidance names "cruises & remote destinations" explicitly. The transport leg is the expensive part — a ship-to-shore transfer followed by an island-to-mainland flight is two moves, not one. If your trip is a cruise, start with our cruise excursion coverage guide and note that Royal Caribbean's own protection program carries $500,000 for emergency evacuation and repatriation — which our cruise-line versus third-party comparison puts in context.
Expedition, high altitude, or a long way from a hospital: go to the top of the table. We are not going to invent a tier here. What we will say is that the reason to buy $1,000,000 rather than $500,000 is that evacuation from genuinely remote terrain can involve relays and grounded aircraft, and that the marginal premium for a higher evacuation limit is typically small relative to the limit. Our remote Nepal trek page works through that judgement for a specific itinerary, and the coverage estimator will set a floor from your own trip details.
Diving: treat the evacuation limit and the dive sub-limit as two different questions. The GeoBlue Voyager Choice certificate caps scuba-related claims at "Trip Period Maximum or $25,000 whichever is less", which is a medical limit rather than an evacuation one — but it is the kind of clause that makes a headline number meaningless. Our scuba shortlist has the full depth-and-certification table.
Four things the limit does not tell you
Who decides you need the flight. You do not. Seven Corners' policy makes payment conditional on the local attending physician and the insurer's designated travel assistance provider agreeing. Calling an air ambulance yourself and claiming afterwards is the single most reliable way to have an evacuation claim denied.
Where they will take you. The default is the nearest suitable facility, not home and not your preferred hospital. Seven Corners will pay transport "to the nearest suitable Hospital or medical facility where Medically Necessary treatment is available". Travel Guard's Deluxe plan lists a "Hospital of Choice Evacuation Upgrade" as included, which is a genuinely different product — if being flown to a named hospital matters to you, that phrase is what you are shopping for.
Whether the benefit extends past your return date. Seven Corners does extend it: where a physician certifies you are not medically fit to travel home on schedule, its evacuation benefit runs "until You are Medically Fit to Travel and transported" to your primary residence, or until the limit is reached.
Whether the evacuation limit is doing the work you think. A plan with $1,000,000 of evacuation and $50,000 of emergency medical is a plan that will fly you to a hospital it then cannot pay for. Size both together — our travel medical roundup sorts by the medical limit, and the IMG Patriot versus GeoBlue Voyager head-to-head shows how far apart two medical-only plans sit on exactly this pairing.
Do not assume your existing cover carries it
A credit card's travel protection and a domestic health plan are both common sources of false confidence here. The CDC's own guidance is to "Ask if your policy has any exclusions, such as for preexisting conditions or adventure activities" and to check whether existing health care covers emergencies abroad at all. Our credit card versus standalone comparison is the place to check what your card actually does, and if you have already paid a deposit, what you can still buy after booking covers which benefits you can still reach. If cost is the deciding factor, check the same trip on HelloSafe alongside the marketplace.
FAQ
How much medical evacuation coverage do I need?
Published guidance starts at one hundred thousand dollars. Squaremouth's benefits page recommends one hundred thousand dollars or more for trips abroad and two hundred fifty thousand dollars or more for cruises and remote destinations, and the CDC notes that transport from a remote area to a high-quality hospital could cost more than one hundred thousand dollars. Above that, the sensible approach is to match the limit to how far you will be from definitive care rather than to a fixed rule, because no authority publishes tiers beyond those two.
How much does a medical evacuation actually cost?
There is no reliable published average, which is why most numbers you will see online have no source attached. The CDC's figure is the one we can trace: more than one hundred thousand dollars for transport from a remote area to a high-quality hospital. Cost depends on distance, whether a fixed-wing air ambulance or a helicopter is needed, how many transfers are involved, and whether a medical escort travels with you.
Is medical evacuation the same as repatriation?
No, and several plans pay them from the same pot. Evacuation moves you to a suitable facility for treatment; repatriation brings you home once you are stable, and repatriation of remains is a third thing again. Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions states a single maximum for all emergency medical transportation services including repatriation and repatriation of remains, while the older GeoBlue Voyager Choice certificate carried a separate twenty-five thousand dollar repatriation of remains benefit. Read which structure your plan uses before you compare two limits.
Can I arrange my own medical evacuation and claim it back?
Generally no. Plans require that the evacuation be approved and usually arranged by the insurer's assistance provider, working with the treating physician, and that your condition meets the policy's threshold of acute, severe or life threatening. Seven Corners' policy makes both the physician and the designated travel assistance services provider part of that determination. Call the assistance number on your policy before anything moves.
Sources
- Travel Insurance (Travelers' Health) — US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Medical Evacuation Travel Insurance — Squaremouth (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Seven Corners Trip Protection Choice policy — Seven Corners / United States Fire Insurance Company (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Travel insurance plans — Travelex Insurance Services (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Compare travel insurance plans — Travel Guard (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Patriot Travel Series — IMG (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Single Trip international medical insurance — Blue Cross Blue Shield Global Solutions (accessed 2026-09-22)
- GeoBlue Voyager Choice certificate of coverage — 4 Ever Life Insurance Company (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Faye travel insurance coverage — Faye (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Cruise Travel Insurance — Royal Caribbean International (accessed 2026-09-22)
Affiliate Disclosure
